Foundation of Motoren-Werke Mannheim A.-G.

Motoren-Werke Mannheim Vertrag 1922

Sale of the Stationary Engine Building department

Excerpt from the contract copy dated April 22, 1922 regarding Benz & Cie. and MWM AG

Due to the economic crisis back in the day and other reasons, Benz & Cie. sold its Stationary Engine Building department in 1922. Under a spin-off agreement, the department was sold to a buyer who intended to continue building engines in the old Benz factory. After the sale was finalized under the spin-off agreement dated April 22, 1922, the stationary engine production became independent from Benz & Cie. and started operating under the name “Motoren-Werke Mannheim A.-G. vorm. Benz, Abt. stationärer Motorenbau”.

Subject to certain restrictions in terms of the power-weight ratio, Motoren-Werke Mannheim A.-G. was permitted to continue to use the prechamber patents. The production of vehicles with diesel engines, too, was restricted: The company was not allowed to sell vehicle engines with a power-weight ratio of less than 25 kg/hp. Moreover, another clause in the spin-off agreement stipulated that “when using the company name on signs, printed material, posters, products or otherwise, the addition ‘vorm. Benz Abt. stationärer Motorenbau’ shall never be expressed in larger letters or in an otherwise more conspicuous way than the remaining part of the company name”.


MWM History. Future Needs Tradition.

More about the history of the company, the MWM brand and the experience in developing and optimizing stationary gas engines.

Read more


Brand expert Thomas Wilkens on the MWM Brand: Brand Management an Important Success Factor

Read more

The brand quiz Take part and win parts 1 to 10

Read more

The MWM Kit for distributors for the brand anniversary

Read more


Eisinger, Norbert (2021): 1871–2021, 150 Years of Continuous Innovation, Milestones and Highlights, Baier Digitaldruck GmbH, Heidelberg

Eisinger, Norbert (2022): Motoren-Werke Mannheim AG, articles and information from Mannheim newspapers from 1922 to 1927

Image: Excerpt from the contract copy (150th Anniversary Book, page 41)